Swainsboro Raceway 2015 Zaxby's Crate Late Model Rule Meeting will be held at the racetrack at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, January 26th.

Watkins Wins 3 in a Row at Swainsboro Raceway!

Watkins Wins 3 in a Row at Swainsboro Raceway!

By: Candy Carroll


Saturday night thunder began at Swainsboro Raceway with the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division.  After qualifying, Jeremy Faircloth and Wendell Chavous led the field to green.  Chavous returning trying to make it two in a row couldn’t hold off Faircloth on the start.  Jeremy Faircloth took the lead as Chris Usry stuck to the inside battling Chavous for the second position.  Usry took over the second position on the back stretch.  The battle for fourth was tight with Joshua Bishop, Henry Carter, and Austin Scarboro.  Five laps to go, feeling the heat from Scarboro, Hurricane Henry Carter drove hard to the outside taking over the fourth position from Joshua Bishop.  Coming to the checkered, a lap car spun off turn four right in front of the leader.  Jeremy Faircloth held on taking the checkered 2 seconds over Chris Usry in second, Wendell Chavous third, Henry Carter fourth, and Joshua Bishop fifth.

After two restarts in the Sunoco Super Street division, the field went single file with Jamey Donaldson leading the way.  Donaldson immediately gains a lengthy lead over Gene Thompson in second.  Lap four, George Williamson running in the third position slips in turn four allowing Phillip Burton to make the pass.  Lap five, Jamie Whitaker running fifth broke going into turn three.  Halfway, Phillip Burton dove inside Gene Thompson for the second position off turn four but Thompson held him off.  Five laps to go, Danny Scarboro tries the outside groove to take over fourth from George Williamson.  Coming to the white flag, Donaldson several car lengths out front had no worries with the three car battle for second.  Burton took the inside again with Thompson outside to take the second position.  Jamey Donaldson took the checkered, Phillip Burton second, Gene Thompson third inches over Danny Scarboro fourth, and George Williamson rounded out top five.

In the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, Dustin Watkins on the inside and Brent Herndon outside.  After several weeks of hard luck, Herndon set his sights on a win.  Lap one, side by side for the lead Herndon tries the outside in one but then slips to the inside for turn three.  Watkins wasn’t giving up and took the lead off turn four.  As Watkins and Herndon battled out front, on lap five, defending track champion Wesley Coleman moved inside Jared Jones for third.  Four laps to go, Coleman caught the leaders making it a three car battle for the lead.  Dustin Watkins took the checkered picking up the first three wins of the season.  Wesley Coleman tried the inside of Herndon for second but couldn’t make it past the rear quarter panel.  Brent Herndon held onto second, Wesley Coleman third, Jared Jones fourth, and Thomas Tanner fifth.

Timmy Thompson and Joey Schoen led the Mini Stock division to green.  Going into turn one, Thompson took the lead as Schoen stuck on the outside fell back to the third position.  Lap two, after restart, Tim Wilkerson running in second spun off turn two.  Lap three, Schoen darts to bottom trying to force the issue and get down low but Thompson holds him off for the lead.  Timmy Thompson continued each lap holding off the pressure of Schoen in second.  Thompson took the checkered and Joey Schoen settled for second.  With a last lap move on the outside, Tim Wilkerson took third from Chirs Wilkerson.  Finishing out the top five was Payton Johnson.

After some last minute bad luck last week when leading every lap of the feature but the last, Tyler Holt returned to the front row in the Adams Construction Road Warrior division.  Holt took the lead with Derrick Screws in second.  Lap two, Seth Clark takes over third from Kylie Avery.  Lap three, Derrick Screws in second drops off the pace in turn two with car trouble and Clark moves into second.  Halfway, Avery slips in turn one allowing Steven Stapleton to move into the third position.  Tyler Holt took the checkered and Seth Clark in second.  On the last lap, Stapleton in third spun off turn two, allowing Derrick Oglesby to pick up third.  In post race inspection, Oglesby was disqualified allowing Kylie Avery to take home the third position.  Making her first career race, Keyton Williams picked up the fourth position and Steven Stapleton fifth.

Teammates battling it out front row in the 440 division, John Hooks and Rod Morris took the green.  John Hooks moved into first with Tommy Davis stuck to his bumper in second.  Lap two, defending track champion starting the season off with tough luck, Tommy Davis moved to the outside of hooks for the lead.  Caution flag sends Hooks back to first.  Lap three, Davis once again took the lead on the outside.  Four laps to go, Rod Morris tried to get inside Hooks for second but Hooks held him off.  Tommy Davis took the checkered, John Hooks second, Rod Morris third, Justin Thompson fourth, and Mollie Boyd fifth.


Category: Headlines · Tags: