Swainsboro Raceway 2015 Zaxby's Crate Late Model Rule Meeting will be held at the racetrack at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, January 26th.

Hometown Drivers On Pole for Great 8 Crate Series Race at Swainsboro Raceway!

By:Candy Carroll

Eighteen drivers rolled into Swainsboro Raceway Saturday night for a chance at $2000 to win in the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division. The race was one of the scheduled events for the First Annual Crate 8 Late Model Series running at Swainsboro Raceway. Swainsboro Raceway will be paying the driver with the highest points of the 8 races $5000. After qualifying, Ben Faircloth took home the fastest qualifying time with Austin Scarboro riding outside. On the first start, coming off turn four an eight car pileup brought out the red flag. Unfortunately for Chris Usry, Chris Shaw, and Bryan Addy their night ended early after being carried to the pits. Coming back to the green, Ben Faircloth quickly took control of the thirty lap event. Austin Scarboro settled into second, Michael Akeson third, Jim Manka fourth, and Henry Carter fifth. Lap 11, Henry Carter found the outside groove and moved around Manka. Double file restarting after a caution, Scarboro chose the inside lane sendng Akeson outside. Akeson took advantage and controlled the second position. Five laps to go, Ches Chester had made his way to the fifth position but spun in turn two bringing out the last caution of the evening. Restarting on the outside, Hurricane Henry Carter riding a rail moved into the second position. Ben Faircloth dominated taking home another win for his outstanding season, Henry Carter earned the second position, Michael Akeson third, Jim Manka fourth, and Austin Scarboro fifth.

In the Sunoco Super Street division, drivers began with a reverse lap and missing pole lap in memory of former Swainsboro Raceway Track Champion Joe Bishop. Jamey Donaldson held off Luke Scott for the heat race win and feature pole position. Taking the green, Luke Scott jumped out front with Donaldson second, and Jimmy Maness third. Lap six, proving that outside lane to be fast all night, Tyler Brown moved from the fourth position to second. After caution on lap six, in turn three, Brown got into leader Luke Scott bringing out another caution. Scott was forced to pit with a broken racecar. Lap nine, running out of patience, Willis McKenzie tried the outside lane and moved into the second position. Lap ten, McKenzie got loose in turn one and Jimmy Maness moved back into the second position. Three laps to go, three wide for the lead, Willis McKenzie takes the lead from Jamey Donaldson. Last lap, Lance Beck moved into third on the outside. Willis McKenzie picked up two in a row, Jamey Donaldson second, Lance Beck third, Jimmy Maness fourth, and Tommy Hadden fifth,

Up next Luke Scott and Roger McKenzie started front row in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division. On the first start, Scott got turned around in turn two and ended his night early. Taking the green once again, Roger McKenzie took the lead outside Dustin Watkins. The top three fought to hold their position the entire race. Roger McKenzie took the checkered making up from falling short after leading every lap last week. Coming off turn four side by side for second Thomas Tanner took the position by inches over Dustin Watkins. Finishing out the top five were Joe McKenzie and Wesley Coleman.

Taking the lead in the Kwik Shop Mini Stock division was Tim Wilkerson. Lap four Wilkerson slips off turn two allowing Chris Wilkerson to try the inside. Halfway, Joey Schoen got around Chris Wilkerson for the second position and began to track down Tim Wilkerson. Tim Wilkerson grabbed another win, Joey Schoen second, Chris Wilkerson third, and Payton Johnson fourth.

Continuing the excitement in the Adams Construction Road Warrior division, Jason Kight and Derrick Screws battled lap one side by side. Lap two, Screws takes the lead by inches. Lap four, three wide for the lead as Tyler Holt joined the battle. Tyler Holt drove to Victory Lane, Jason Kight carried home second, Derrick Screws third, Ricky Strange fourth, and Derrick Oglesby fifth.

Closing the night in the Scare House of the South 440 division, Justin Thompson took the lead over John Hooks. Lap four, Thompson off the pace drives off the back stretch and pits with a flat tire. John Hooks takes the lead with points leader Rod Morris in second. Three laps to go, Morris moves to the inside of turn three and takes the lead from Hooks. Two laps to go, running in the fourth position, Mollie Boyd backed off pace and pitted with flat tire. Rod Morris picked up the win, John Hooks second, Tommy Davis third, Paul “Donut” Carroll fourth, and Blake Williamson fifth.

Racing returns this Saturday night with the Ladies battling it out in the Power Puff Race. Also we will have open practice at the NEW Swainsboro Raceway Kart Track. Don’t forget about  the Miss Swainsboro Raceway Pageant starting around 7p.m.


Category: Headlines · Tags: