Swainsboro Raceway 2015 Zaxby's Crate Late Model Rule Meeting will be held at the racetrack at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, January 26th.

Swainsboro Raceway Host Christmas in July!

Swainsboro Raceway Host Christmas in July!


By: Candy Carroll


With a beautiful Friday morning, drivers from all over the U.S. began rolling into Swainsboro Raceway bright and early.  For the first time this year, the Super Late Model drivers came to battle for $5300 to win in the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series.  In addition to all the racing excitement, Swainsboro Raceway and the Swainsboro Shrine Club hosted Christmas in July.  Several businesses and individuals donated prizes to be raffled off and all proceeds went to the Swainsboro Shrine Club who donates all proceeds to Shriner’s Hospital in Greenville.  Over 20 bicycles and over 50 different prizes were given away throughout the night. 


After qualifying and heat races 23 out of 32 cars made it into the feature event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern National Series.  Casey Roberts of Toccoa, GA. led flag-to-flag in the 53 lap event holding off challenges by Brandon Overton for his eighth career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series victory at Swainsboro Raceway on Friday Night. The win was worth $5,300 for the Peach State driver in the Cushman Motorsports, Cushman Paint & Body, Starette Trucking, M & S Concrete sponsored Custom Racing Engines powered Longhorn Chassis Camaro.  Completing the top five were Brandon Overton-Appling, GA second, Chris Madden-Gray Court, SC third, Brent Dixon-Elberton, GA fourth, and Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, FL fifth.


In the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Brian Connor held off Ben Faircloth to lead the entire event and take the checkered for the first time this season.  Jak Kicklighter took home third, Austin Scarboro fourth, and Brandon Carpenter fifth.


Dominating the Sunoco Super Street event, Luke Scott led every lap to take the checkered by over half track.  Kelly Guy grabbed second, Ricky Brantley third, Jamey Donaldson fourth, and Jeremy Brassell fifth.


Picking up two wins in one night, Luke Scott took home the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock feature.  Dustin Watkins held off his father Glen Watkins for the second position.  Johnnie Tucker and Ricky Strange topped off the top five. 


In the Kwik Shop Mini Stock division, one the start pole sitter Joey Schoen had to pit giving up the front row position.  For several laps, Timmy Thompson and Tim Wilkerson battled for the lead.  Tim Wilkerson spun off turn two giving up the second position.  Timmy Thompson held the lead to the checkered, Joey Schoen moved back up to the second position, Ronnie Hughs third, Fred Young fourth, and Payton Johnson fifth.


Results for the Adam Construction Road Warrior division are pending protest.  Unofficial results, Tyler Holt first, Jason Kight second, Derrick Screws third, Jody Ivy fourth, and Derrick Oglesby fifth.


Ending the night with the Scare House of the South 440 division, Dustin Watkins took the checkered holding off teammate John Hooks in second.  On the last lap, Rod Morris began to slow giving up the fourth position, and Tommy Davis running in third blew a tire coming to the checkered.  Paul “Donut” Carroll and Blake Williamson were able to pass taking home the third and fourth positions with Tommy Davis fifth.


Category: Headlines · Tags: