Williamson Grabs Grand at Swainsboro Raceway!

Williamson Grabs Grand at Swainsboro Raceway!

Williamson Grabs Grand at Swainsboro Raceway!

By: Candy Carroll


Saturday night racing action at Swainsboro Raceway began with racing in the 602 Crate Late Model division. Swainsboro’s own “The Hammer” Austin Scarboro and “The Tall Cool One” Terry Lumley led the group to green. Scarboro took the lead in one. Lap two, Tyler Mimbs moved inside Lumley in two to take second off turn four. Lap three, Lumley moved back into second as Scarboro held a healthy lead. Lap five, Mimbs trying for the second position washed up high in turn three. Austin Scarboro led green to checkered making his first appearance on Victory Lane for the year, Terry Lumley second, and Tyler Mimbs third.

After qualifying, Chesley Dixon earned the fastest time over Jimmy Thomas in the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division. After two initial cautions, the field went to a single file restart allowing Dixon the advantage out front. Thomas in second made several attempts at Dixon for the lead. Lap seven, all eyes on Shane Riner starting in the sixth position already in third moving in on Thomas for second. After a dixie double file restart on lap eight, Riner took advantage passing Thomas for second. Just past halfway, Thomas gets loose off turn two allowing Cole Godowns to moved in and battle for third. Chesley Dixon held on picking up his second win of the season, Shane Riner took second, Jimmy Thomas third, Cole Godowns fourth, and Shannon Graham fifth.

In the Sunoco Super Street division, Jamie Whitaker earned the pole position and quickly took the lead at the green. Lap two, reigning points champion Andy Stewart hot in the tire tracks of Whitaker trying for the lead. By lap five, Whitaker and Stewart held a spacious lead over third and fourth. Jamie Whitaker drover hard to take his first win of the season in the Sunoco Super Street division, Andy Stewart finished second, Brent Herndon third, Jamey Donaldson fourth, and Jimmy Maness fifth.

Rolling out in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division, Gene Thompson and Chad Hutcheson both picked up heat race wins. Gene Thompson immediately took the lead with Justin Thompson in second. Lap two, first and second battled side by side. Lap three, Justin Thompson took the lead in turn three. Justin Thompson held on to pick up another win for the season, Gene Thompson second, Fate Carroll took home third, Chad Hutcheson fourth, and Chandler Strom fifth.

Battling for $1000 to win in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, George Williamson and Jason Floyd both won their heat to start front row for the feature. On the first start, Floyd took the lead on the front stretch but the caution waived sending the field back to double file. Restarting again, Williamson took the pull to take the lead off turn two with Floyd falling in second and Kip Poole third. Lap three, Floyd tried the inside of Williamson off turn four but unable to complete the pass. Lap five, Brent Herndon worked on Poole for the third position. Again on lap six, Floyd tried the inside of Williamson but was unable to pass. George Williamson drove hard holding of Jason Floyd earning the $1000 win. Finishing out the top five, Kip Poole in third, Brent Herndon fourth, and Derrick Screws fifth.

Starting first through third in the Scare House of the South 440 division, brothers front row with young gun rookie sitting third, Tommy Davis and Terry Davis took the green. Tommy Davis took the lead with Terry Davis in second. Rod Morris on the outside took third from Tyler Davis. Halfway, Morris making several attempts at second tried the inside in turn two but Terry Davis quickly cut him off. Four to go, Morris tried the outside and after being forced out of the groove fell back. Tommy Davis checked out with another win, Terry Davis second, Tyler Davis third, Richard Lastinger fourth, and Rod Morris fifth.