Maness and Mimbs Celebrate with Victory at Swainsboro Raceway!

Maness and Mimbs Celebrate with Victory at Swainsboro Raceway!

Maness and Mimbs Celebrate with Victory at Swainsboro Raceway!

By: Candy Carroll


Drivers rolled into Swainsboro Raceway with a night packed of racing action and new winners in multiple divisions. In the 602 Crate Late Model division, Austin Scarboro and Tyler Mimbs led the field to green. Mimbs hungry for his first win, pulls to the lead on the outside with Terry Lumley following in second. Mimbs quickly pulled away as Lumley and Scarboro battled for second. With five laps to go, Lumley began gaining on Mimbs for the lead. Tyler Mimbs took the checkered earning his first win in the 602 Crate Late Model division, Terry Lumley rode home with second, Austin Scarboro third, Joey May fourth, and Benjamin Cranford fifth.

In the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Blake Smith grabbed the fastest qualifying time over John Henderson. As the field took the green Smith jumped out front but a caution off turn two sent the field back to double file restart and unfortunately for Pearson Lee Williams after getting caught up in the accident, his night ended early. On the restart, Smith takes the lead but Henderson pushes to take over off turn two. Smith gained ground in the turns but Henderson was faster on the straight away. John Henderson took the checkered, Blake Smith second, Cole Godowns third, Ken Ricks fourth, and Dustin Watkins fifth.

Up next, Jamie Whitaker picked up the heat race win in the Sunoco Super Street division. On the start, veterans driver Jimmy Maness pulls to the lead on the outside. Lap two, Andy Stewart moved inside Whitaker off two for second. Whitaker was forced to pit and returned to the rear of the field. Stewart tried the inside Maness off turn four. Daniel Roland and Brent Herndon battled for the third position. Halfway, Stewart tried the outside lane to move around Maness but Maness held onto the lead. Coming to the checkered off turn four Stewart tries Maness once again but gets caught up causing him to lose second. Jimmy Maness took the checkered celebrating in Victory Lane, Daniel Roland second, Brent Herndon third, Jamie Whitaker fourth, and Andy Stewart fifth.

Battling for $1000 to win in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division, Jamey Foskey and Chandler Strom both earned heat race wins to lead the field to green. Foskey took the lead with Gene Thompson in second. Justin Thompson moved inside Tyler Sanders for third. Four laps in, Strom spun off turn four losing the second position. Lap five, Tyler Sanders passed Gene Thompson on the inside for second. Justin Thompson moved into second but breaks with two laps to go and is forced to pit. Jamey Foskey took the checkered earning his first win, Tyler Sander second, Gene Thompson third, Logan Tanner fourth, and Jason Kight fifth.

Front row in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division inside Brent Herndon and outside Tyler Sanders. Herndon took the lead, Dustin Watkins moved into third. After a caution, Kip Poole was forced to pit and rejoin on the rear. Only three laps in, Herndon slows on a restart and takes that hard turn to pits giving up his chance at the win. George Williamson takes the lead. Lap five, Ricky Strange moves inside Watkisn for second. After going to the rear earlier, Sanders was back in the fifth position. Five to go, Sanders moved inside Garret Thigpen for fourth. Three to go, Sanders passed Watkins for third. A caution waives, Williamson is forced to pit with flat after leading the race. Tyler Sander inherits the lead with two to go. Tyler Sanders takes the checkered after coming from the rear, Kip Poole holds off Garrett Thigpen for second, Dustin Watkins fourth, and Derrick Screws fifth.

In the Scare House of the South 440 division, Tommy Davis takes the lead with Rod Morris running hard on the outside. Tyler Davis takes over the third position. Lap three, Davis hold heavy lead as Morris, Tyler Davis, and Terry Davis battle for second. Halfway, Tyler Davis takes over second off turn four. Tommy Davis continues his streak adding another win for the season, son Tyler Davis grabs his best finish in his rookie season in second place, Rod Morris third, Terry Davis fourth, and Daniel Rogers fifth.