Davis Wins In Memory of Sons 20th Birthday!

Davis Wins In Memory of Sons 20th Birthday!

Davis Wins In Memory of Sons 20th Birthday!



By: Candy Carroll

Saturday night racing action at Swainsboro Raceway began with the 602 Crate Late Model division. Benjamin Cranford and Kyle Connell take the green. After making contact, Cranford takes the lead. Tyler Mimbs takes over second on the outside of turn two. Connell and Luke Scott get hooked together off turn two sending both cars to the pits. Five to go, Mimbs making several attempts at the lead makes contact with Cranford. Cranford holds onto the lead to take the checkered. In post race inspection, Tyler Mimbs grabbed the win, Joey May second, and Paul Smith finished out third.

In the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Chesley Dixon grabbed the fastest time over Brandon Carpenter. On the first start, Dixon and Carpenter make contact in turn one, Carpenter takes the lead, Dixon brings out the caution in three and four. After complete restart, Dixon takes the lead with Carpenter in second. Suffering damage from earlier contact, Carpenter fights with handling issues and gets lose off turn two. Blake Smith moves in on the battle for second. Caution with eight to go send the field to dixie double file restart, Smith takes over second on the restart. Chesley Dixon pulls away for the win, Blake Smith picks up second, Brandon Carpenter third, Henry Carter fourth, and Dustin Watkins fifth.

Up next, Richard Lastinger and Tommy Davis lead the Scare House of the South 440 division to green. Davis takes the lead. Terry and Tyler Davis battle for the third position. Lap three, Tyler Davis spins Terry Davis sending Tyler to the rear. Leader Tommy Davis loose off turn three allows Lastinger to gain ground. Lastinger tries the outside off turn four. Tyler Davis quickly makes his way back through the field to the third position. Tommy Davis picks up another win dedicating this one in memory of his Son Austin Davis’ 20th Birthday, Richard Lastinger second, Tyler Davis third, Terry Davis fourth, and Michael Wallis fifth.

Rolling out in the Sunoco Super Street divisio, Luke Scott takes the lead with Andy Stewart second and Jamie Whitaker third. Lap three, Stewart gains on Scott for first. Lap five, Brent Herndon closes the gap on Whitaker for third. Four laps to go, Herndon breaks losing the fourth position. Luke Scott checked out with the win, Andy Stewart second, Jamie Whitaker third, Dustin Miller fourth, and Canaan Cranford fifth.

Jaime Foskey takes the lead in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division. Chris Beasley and Todd Hutcheson battle for the fourth position. Lap three, Beasley and Hutcheson make contact sending both cars to the pits. Fate Carroll in hot pursuit Foskey for the lead. Halfway, Gene Thompson pressures Carroll for second. Jaime Foskey grabs another win for the season, Fate Carroll holds onto second, Gene Thompson third, Dougie McCullough fourth, and Michael Wallis fifth.

Ending the night at the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, on the start, red flag brought out as the field piles up just past the flag stand. Back to green, Garrett Thigpen takes the lead. Lap three, George Williamson closes the gap on Thigpen. Halfway, Andy Stewart and Brent Herndon battle for third. Lap nine, Williamson takes over the lead with Andy Stewart moving into second. Five to go, Kip Poole battles Herndon for the fourth position. Three to go, Stewart drives to the inside of Williamson in turn four. The two get together in turn one sending Williamson to the pits and Stewart to the rear. Back to green, Kip Poole leads the way. Kip Poole earns his second win of the season, Jamey Donaldson moves up to the second position, Alex Sturkie third, Andy Stewart fourth, and Ned Donaldson fifth.