$4400 Payday for Scare House of the South 440 Division at Swainsboro Raceway!

$4400 Payday for Scare House of the South 440 Division at Swainsboro Raceway!

$4400 Payday for Scare House of the South 440 Division at Swainsboro Raceway!

$4400 Payday for Scare House of the South 440 Division at Swainsboro Raceway!


By: Candy Carroll

Nearly a hundred cars rolled into Swainsboro Raceway Saturday night for racing action. Several drivers showed up to compete for the $4400 payday in the Scare House of the South division and many new drivers rolled in preparing the the Labor Day Showdown September 1 and 2.

Up first in the 602 Crate Late Model division, Shannon Graham grabbed the heat race win with Points leader Austin Scarboro outside. On the first start, Benjamin Cranford brings out the caution off turn two. On the restart, Scarboro took the lead on the outside off turn two. Lap one, caution sends Shannon Graham to the rear to fight back to the front. Within five laps, Graham moved into the second position off turn four. Scarboro and Graham pulled away from the field. Austin Scarboro led the entire event adding another win to the season, Shannon Graham earned second, and Alf Wimberly picked up third in his first Crate appearance.

In the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Chesley Dixon set the fastest qualifying time with Blake Smith second. On the start, Dixon chose the outside lane. Taking the green, Blake Smith took the lead off two but Dixon brought out the caution. The second restart, Dixon took the lead as Smith brought out the caution off turn two. The field went to a single file start and Chesley Dixon led the way. Starting fifth, Henry Carter quickly moved into the fourth position. Lap three, Brandon Carpenter took over third. Dixon held nearly a straight away lead as Carpenter tried Smith for second off turn two. Chesley Dixon took the checkered, Blake Smith second, Brandon Carpenter third, Joshua Bishop fourth, and Henry Carter fifth.

Twenty seven drivers showed up to battle for $4400 in the Scare House of the South 440 division. After qualifying, Andrew Smith and Alan Carter set the front row for the 44 lap event. Carter pulls to the lead as Smith battles back. After a caution, the field went back double file. On the restart, Carter takes the lead once again with Reid Christensen following him on the outside. Lap three, Brian Balcom battled along beside Rod Morris for the fourth position. Top three stacked trying for the lead with Carter, Christensen, and Smith. Eight laps in, running in the top five, Rod Morris was forced to pit and rejoin the field on the rear. Lap nine, John Hooks worked on Balcom for the fourth position. Lap 11, Christensen tried Carter on the outside for the lead. Lap 12, Christensen took the lead on the outside of turn two and Andrew Smith worked on second. Caution sends Carter back to the lead. Lap 18, John Hooks off the pace losing the fourth position and pitting for the night. Halfway, game over as Andrew Smith takes the lead in turn two. Lap 25, Christensen takes over second as Alan Carter is forced to pit after leading half the event. Two laps to go, starting eleventh, Blake Cohn takes over the second position. Andrew Smith grabs the win, Blake Cohn second, Reid Christensen third, Tommy Davis fourth, and Brian Balcom fifth.

Sixteen drivers rolled in preparing for the upcoming $10,000 to win in the Sunoco Super Street division. Sitting front row after heat race wins was Jamie Whitaker and Andy Stewart. Jamie Whitaker took the lead as Luke Scott worked on Andy Stewart for second. Lap four, Justin Sapp moves into third in turn three. Lap six, Brent Herndon and Dustin Miller take the fourth and fifth positions. Halfway, Whitaker consistently slips coming of turn four and Stewart takes advantage moving into the lead. After falling back with handling issues, Whitaker pits ending his chances at the win. Luke Scott makes several attempts to take the lead from Stewart. Three to go, Scott pits after making it to the second position. Andy Stewart grabs another win, Justin Sapp moves up to second, Dustin Miller third, Monk Gulledge fourth, and Johnnie Tucker Jr fifth.

In the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division, both Tyler Sanders and Fate Carroll earned heat race wins. On the start, Sanders took the lead with Ricky Strange following in second. Lap three, Jaime Foskey moves in on Strange off turn four trying for second. Four laps to go, Chris Beasley leads the way and Strange is off the pace losing second. Chris Beasley takes his first checkered after coming out of several years in retirement. In post race inspection, Jaime Foskey is declared the winner, Fate Carroll grabs second, Tyler Sanders third, Todd Hutcheson fourth, and Robbie Bland fifth.

Up last, Dillon Crosby and Daniel Roland both picked up heat race wins and led the field to green in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division. Side by Side for first Crosby leads by inches. Lap two, Roland takes over the lead but Crosby retaliates in two regaining the lead. Caution allows Daniel Roland to move back into first. Lap four, Brent Herndon moving through the field takes over third. Kip Poole quickly joins the action battling for the third position. Five to go, Roland leads the way and Kip Poole heats the pressure on Crosby for second. Two to go, Dillon Crosby breaks. Daniel Roland facing mechanical issues as he slows in the turns holds on to take the checkered. Kip Poole earns the second position, Brent Herndon third, Derrick Screws fourth, and Jamey Donaldson fifth.

On behalf of the faculty, staff, and fans of Swainsboro Raceway, we would like to send our condolences and deepest sympathy to the family of Marsha Poole. Ms Poole, mother and #1 race fan to her son Kip Poole, passed away unexpectedly Wednesday, August 16. Please keep this family in your prayers!