Sunoco Super Street $10,000 to win at Swainsboro Raceway!

Sunoco Super Street $10,000 to win at Swainsboro Raceway!

Sunoco Super Street $10,000 to win at Swainsboro Raceway!

Sunoco Super Street $10,000 to win at Swainsboro Raceway!

By: Candy Carroll


Fans enjoyed an action packed Labor Day weekend at Swainsboro Raceway Friday and Saturday night. Friday night drivers rolled in for open practice in all divisions along with qualifying and heats in the Sunoco Super Street division. Twenty-one drivers showed up to compete for the $10,000 Annual Harrell-Mason Memorial Shootout. After qualifying, Monk Gulledge picked up an extra $400 by grabbing the fastest time award sponsored by Hobbs Grading and Clearing. Drivers then competed in three different heat races to set starting positions for Saturday nights feature event. Monk Gulledge continued his streak by picking up the first heat race win and starting inside front row, young gun Canaan Cranford grabbed the second heat to sit outside front row, and legendary Jottie Burgamy grabbed the third heat.

Saturday night, fans enjoyed a lights out firework extravaganza as all drivers were introduced on the front stretch and the famous words “Gentlemen Start Your Engines” were given by track owner Paul Purvis. Drivers then gave four-wide salute with American Flags to get fans on their feet. As the green flag waived on the 50 lap event, Monk Gulledge pulls to the lead and Jottie Burgamy pulls to second. After a single file restart, Gulledge jumps to a big lead. Burgamy works on Cranford to regain second, Andy Stewart challenges Brent Herndon for the fourth position. Caution on lap four, brings the field back together. On the restart, Cranford loose off turn two and Burgamy strikes to take over second. Cranford continues to battle a loose racecar and loses position after starting second. By lap fourteen, Gulledge holds a hefty lead and starts moving in on lapped traffic. Lap twenty, battle for third between Stewart and Herndon sends both cars to the pits and Luke Scott moves up. Twenty laps to go, tires begin to play a factor as the leader is forced to pit with flat cutting Gulledge win short. Jottie Burgamy takes over the lead toting the right side heavy off the turns. The $10,000 question, would the right side tires hold up and could Burgamy hold off the fierce competition of Luke Scott in second. While Burgamy out front, Scott in second had Jamie Whitaker all over the 09 car trying to make a move. Eight laps to go, pushing to make ground in the turns, Whitaker spins off turn four. After previously pitting and returning to the rear of the field, Andy Stewart was now back in the third position. As the laps wind down, Jottie Burgamy is forced to fight a little harder as its visual the tires are wearing and the car is slicker in the turns. Jottie Burgamy takes the checkered, Luke Scott earns second, Andy Stewart settles in at third, Justin Sapp fourth, and Bobby Morris makes up the top five. Bobby Morris in fifth and Tyler Sanders in sixth picked up an extra $100 sponsored by GRW Competition Engines.

In a battle for a cool hard grand, the Scare House of the South 440 division took the green next with both Tommy Davis and Alan Carter picking up heat race wins earlier in the night. On the start, Alan Carter quickly jumps out front with Tommy Davis in second. With one of the fastest cars in the division, Rod Morris is off the pace. Carter holds a hefty lead and begins working lapped traffic by lap four. Halfway, Tyler Sherrod tries Davis off turn two for second but fails to pass. Alan Carter takes the checkered. In tech after the event, Carter’s car was claimed by second place driver Tommy Davis. Carter refused to sell and Tommy Davis was declared the winner. Tyler Sherrod moved up to second palce, Blake Cohn third, John Hooks fourth, and John Windham fifth.

Up next in the 602 Crate Late Model division, Caleb Gay and Terry Lumley earned heat race wins to start front row for the $1500 feature event. After two restarts, the field was sent single file with Gay out front and Lumley close behind in second. Lap two, Austin Scarboro challenged Kyle Connell for the third position. Lap four, Lumley tries the inside of Gay off turn two but is unable to make the pass. Lap five, Paul Smith brings out the caution off turn four running in the fifth position. In a close battle for the win, Caleb Gay holds off Terry Lumley to take the checkered, Kyle Connell holds onto third, Shannon Graham moves into fourth, and Austin Scarboro finishes out the top five.

Battling for $2500 to win, Banjo Duke took the fastest qualifying time in the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division. Duke takes the lead in turn one with Jimmy Thomas in second. Duke out front with a three car battle for second behind him. Ben Faircloth moved inside Joshua Bishop for the third position in turn two but Bishop quickly regains the position. Caution on lap thirteen, sends the field to a double file restart. Chesley Dixon takes advantage of the restart passing Brandon Carpenter for the sixth position. Banjo Duke leads flawlessly to take the checkered, Jimmy Thomas nearly two seconds behind in second, Joshua Bishop third, Ben Faircloth fourth, and Russell Brown moved into the top five.

In the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division, Tyler Sanders and Terry Cummings earned heat race wins and led the field to green. After two starts, the field went single file with Sanders out front. Cummings had tough competition for second with Gene Thompson and Jaime Foskey making it a three car battle. Lap four, Foskey was all over the rear of Thompson for the third position. Tyler Sanders led the entire event to checkered for the $1000 payday, Jaime Foskey moved up to second, Terry Cummings third, Gene Thompson fourth, and Robbie Bland pulled out the top five.

Up last in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, Kip Poole and Derrick Screws took the green. Poole takes an early lead with Dustin Watkins to second and Roger McKenzie third off turn four. Lap two, McKenzie takes over second off turn two. Lap five, Screws moved along Watkins battling side by side off four for third. Halfway, Roger McKenzie drops down low to get inside of Kip Poole off turn four and take the lead. Five to go, Dustin Watkins breaks in the third position. Roger McKenzie parks it in Victory Lane for the cool grand. Coming to the checkered fans on their feet, three wide for second, Daniel Roland makes a last minute move to take the position, Derrick Screws moves up to third, Kip Poole fourth, and Brent Herndon fifth.

Be sure to check out the Swainsboro Raceway and Kart Track facebook page for weekly updates and information. Also, visit us at and like our fan page to receive future media updates.