Stewart takes $1000 Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock Win!

Stewart takes $1000 Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock Win!

Stewart takes $1000 Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock Win!

Stewart takes $1000 Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock Win!


By: Candy Carroll


Returning after a weekend off due to inclement weather, racing action began Saturday night at Swainsboro Raceway in the Sunoco Super Street division.  Monk Gulledge and Andy Stewart picked up heat race wins leading the field to green in the 15 lap feature event.  Gulledge took the lead early with Stewart second.  Jared Zimpel and Tommy Clinard battled for the third position.  Lap 4, Johnnie Tucker Jr took the inside line for the fourth position as Clinard got hung outside losing position.  Halfway, Gulledge and Stewart led the field by several car lengths.  Five to go, Tucker moved inside Zimpel on the front stretch for third.  After taking over third, Tucker spun driving hard trying to hold off Zimpel.  On restart, Phillip Burton took over the fifth position.  Two to go, Jimmy Maness made a hard charge to take over the third position.  Monk Gulledge took the checkered, Andy Stewart second, Jimmy Maness third, Jared Zimpel fourth, and Tommy Clinard rounded out the top five.


In the Southland Insurance 602 Late Model Sportsman division, Terry Lumley picked up the heat race win over Cody Overton.  Both drivers fighting to return to victory lane for the second time this season took the green side by side.  Lap one, door to door all the way around to turn four, Lumley takes the lead.  Joey May starting in the fourth position, gets hung up on the outside.  Brandon Carpenter sets in at the third position with Logan Tanner in fourth.  Terry Lumley leads flag to flag celebrating two in a row, Cody Overton takes second, Brandon Carpenter third, Logan Tanner fourth, and Paul Smith fifth. 

Competing for $1000 to win in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, both former track champions, Andy Stewart and Luke Scott brought the field to green.  Immediately in turn one, as Stewart and Scott go metal to metal sparks are flying.  Kip Poole sticks to the bottom of the track trying to move in on the action.  Lap 2, Wesley Coleman gets high allowing RJ Coleman and Roger McKenzie to move into the top five.  Lap 4, McKenzie gets by RJ Coleman for fifth.  Lap 6, Poole puts the bumper to Scott for the second position and Jamey Donaldson takes part in the action allowing Stewart to increase the lead.  Halfway, Poole gets a run to the inside of Scott for second.  Lap 12, Donaldson takes third from Scott off turn four.  Lap 14, Donaldson tries inside Poole for second allowing Scott to regain third.  Four to go, Luke Scott loses a tire going into turn one ending his chance at the grand.  Two to go, George Williamson takes over fourth from Roger McKenzie.  As the battle for second changed throughout the race, Andy Stewart was able to coast to the checkered earning the $1000 win.  Jamey Donaldson took second, Kip Poole third, George Williamson fourth, Roger McKenzie fifth.

Starting inside pole in the Scare House of the South 440 division, young gun Tyler Davis set out to try for his first win of the season and break the streak of points leader Rod Morris, as rookie Cody Atkinson sat outside.  Rod Morris pulled out starting rear of the field after mechanical issues during hot laps.  Davis led the field to green and Atkinson took to second.  Rod Morris quickly off the pace took the hard turn to the pits for the night.  Davis took a hefty lead but Atkinson was not to be left behind as he seemed to have the speed.  Atkinson fought over driving in the turns and pushing in the turns allowing Davis to expand the lead.  Also trying for his best finish of the season Bill Keisel started out in third but began to fall back as Randy Bird moved into the top five.  Tyler Davis took the checkered earning his first win of the season, Cody Atkinson took his best finish with second, Daniel Rogers moved from sixth to third, Richard Lastinger fourth, and Bill Keisel fifth. 

Up next the Sharp Mini Late Model division took the green with a 5 car scramble for the lead.  Derek Chance takes the lead with Brad Amerson second and Rene Chamser third.  Lap 2, Chamser tries Amerson on the inside for second.  Lap 3, Matt Harden and Ricky Woodward battle for third.  Five to go, Woodward and Harden get together off turn four sending Woodward hard into the front stretch wall.  On the restart, Gavin Cowan and Clay Collins side by side for fourth.  Collins takes over the fourth position off turn two.  Three to go, Amerson falls off the pace in second.  Derek Chance earned his first win at Swainsboro Raceway, Rene Chamser took second, Clay Collins third, Roddney Rish fourth, and Brad Amerson fifth.

On the second restart in the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Joshua Bishop pulls out front by a few inches on the outside but Ironhead Chesley Dixon takes the lead on the back and stretches out.  Jordy Nipper makes a move on Cody Overton for the third position but Overton closes the door.  Chesley Dixon takes the checkered, Joshua Bishop second, Cody Overton third, Jordy Nipper fourth, and Shannon Graham fifth.

Ending the night in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division, Justin Williams earned his first heat race win with Robbie Bland starting outside.  Justin Williams took the lead in one, Jacob Barwick jumped inside Bland for the second position.  Gene Thompson moved into fourth as Kip Poole fell back.  Lap 2, Barwick took the lead.  In second place, Justin Williams spun in two pitting for the night.  Four to go, Jaime Foskey passed Poole off turn four for fifth.  Jacob Barwick held off Robbie Bland to take his first checkered flag win at Swainsboro Raceway.  Gene Thompson took third, Chris Beasley fourth, and Jaime Foskey finished out the top five. 


At Swainsboro Kart Track Red Plate Division 1. Tyler McCumbers, 2. Trey Oliver, 3. Michael Wallis.  Blue Plate 1. Marley Meeks, Pro Blue 1. Marley Meeks.  Green Plate Light 1. Ethan Martin, 2. Tucker Baird, 3. Savanna Williams.  Green Plate Heavy 1. Tucker Baird, 2. Jake Brown, 3. Savanna Williams.  Predator 350 1. Brandon Green, 2. Tyler Godbee, 3. Johnny Martin.  Predator 375 1. Johnny Martin, 2. Todd Godbee, 3. Wayne Edenfield.  Clone T350 1. Justin Diekemper, 2. Joseph Diekemper, 3. Chad Murray.  Clone T3 375 1. Justin Diekemper, 2. Jake Soctt, 3. Joseph Diekemper.  Clone EL 350 1. Joseph Diekemper, 2. Justin Diekemper, 3. Chad Murray.  Clone EL 375 1. Joseph Diekemper, 2. Dusty Godbee, 3. Brandon Pollette.  Clone Super Heavy 425 1. Skeeter Godbee, 2. Matt Black, 3. Rodney Marcus.  Run What You Bring 1. Ryan Adams, 2. Mike Stroyeck, 3. Joseph Diekemper.