Bishop Takes Checkered at Swainsboro Raceway!

Bishop Takes Checkered at Swainsboro Raceway!

Bishop Takes Checkered at Swainsboro Raceway!

By: Candy Carroll



Nearly 100 cars rolled into Swainsboro Raceway for Saturday night racing action with the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division paying $2000 to win.  Racing action began with the Southland Insurance 602 Late Model division.  After hot lap qualifying and heat races, Terry Lumley and Austin Scarboro both picked up heat race wins taking the green.  With two cautions, the field went to single file restart with Lumley gaining the advantage out front.  Scarboro looks to the inside off turn four but Lumley was able to make the pull on the straight away.  Lap 2, Ricky McClain moved inside Tyler Mimbs battling for fourth.  On a restart from caution, Matt Davis slipped in two allowing Mimbs to take over the third position.  Lap 3, Morgan Sheffield, returning after picking up a win the second race of the season, took fourth from McClain off turn two.  Tyler Mimbs night ended early with a left rear flat causing him and Sheffield to get together off turn four.  Unfortunately, Sheffield faced heave front end damage sending him to the pits.  Several cautions sent the field to a green-white checkered finish due to time.  Terry Lumley earned his third win of the season increasing his points lead, Austin Scarboro took second in a hard attempt for the win but falling short due to time, Ricky McClain moved back to pick up a top three, Paul Smith earned fourth, and Cale Faulk fifth.


After qualifying, the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division started with a battle in black between J1 Joshua Bishop inside pole and 1N Jordy Nipper outside.  Twenty cars came to green with Bishop taking the advantage in turn three, Nipper second, and Ben Faircloth third.  Caution on lap 3 sent field to restart with three wide battle for second between Nipper. Faircloth, and Jimmy Thomas.  Faircloth tries inside Nipper for second but slips in two and Thomas takes over third.  By lap 5, Bishop was moving into heavy lapped traffic and Nipper closed the gap.  Joshua Bishop led the thirty-lap event to checkered, Jordy Nipper second, Ben Faircloth third, Jimmy Thomas fourth, and Kyle Bridges fifth.


In the Sunoco Super Street division, Dustin Miller and Monk Gulledge both won heat races to start front row.  Before taking the green, Miller’s night ended short being pushed to the infield moving Brent Herndon to inside pole.  First caution on the start sent Gulledge spinning on the back stretch losing a door and lots of sheet metal damage.  Able to continue, Herndon and Gulledge took the green, Herndon pulls to the lead with Andy Stewart hot in second.  Lap 4, Gulledge back in second moves in on Herndon in turn two.  Multiple laps of side by side racing, Gulledge takes the lead.  Two to go, Stewart fighting a loose car, Jamie Whitaker takes over third.  Monk Gulledge takes the checkered, Brent Herndon second, Jamie Whitaker third, Andy Stewart fourth, and Jimmy Maness brings home fifth.


With a couple restarts in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division, George Williamson takes the lead over Kip Poole as Poole ducks to the inside in two but Williamson holds him off.  Robbie Bland makes a challenge at Justin Williams for the third position.  Two to go, side by side off four, Williamson and Poole banging door to door as Poole wheel hops Williamson but still takes the lead down the front stretch.  Kip Poole earns another win, George Williamson second, last lap move Robbie Bland takes over third, Justin Williams fourth, and John Lariscey fifth.


Trying to make it two in a row, Kip Poole started outside pole with Jamey Donaldson inside for the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock feature event.  Working long hours getting the car ready, Jamey Donaldson was on point taking the lead quickly over Poole.  Lap 4, Tyler Sanders closes the gap on Poole and takes over second on lap seven.  Halfway, Brent Herndon and Andy Stewart slip by George Williamson to move into the top five.  Jamey Donaldson never looked back earning the trophy, Tyler Sanders took the Rim Rider Racing machine to second, Jared Jones held it in the top to earn third, Brent Herndon fourth, and Andy Stewart fifth.


In the Scare House of the South 440 division, after a caution in the heat race with only two laps to go, Tyler Davis and Rod Morris moved by Chris Atkinson to start front row for the feature.  Davis leading the points and Morris close second but dominating wins this year take the green.  Drivers all anxious preparing for next weeks $4400 to win, Tyler Davis hits the bottom side for the lead with Morris known to ride the high side jumps up top.  Davis drove a clean line holding the lead and pulling out front by a few car lengths.  Tyler Davis led green to checkered earning his spot in victory lane, Rod Morris brought home second, Chris Atkinson third, Tommy Davis fourth, and Cody Atkinson fifth.


Swainsboro Kart Track results for Red Plate 1. Tyler McCumbers, 2. Gavin Grant, 3. Camden Harp.  Green Plate Light 1. Tucker Baird, 2. TJ Taylor, 3. Ethan Martin.  Green Plate Heavy 1. Tucker Baird, 2. TJ Taylor, 3. Jaxson Monroe.  Blue Plate 1. Marley Meeks, 2. Clay Anderson, 3. Casie Wallis.  Pro Blue 1. Marley Meeks, 2. Casie Wallis.  Predator 330 1. Brandon Green, 2. Johnny Martin, 3. Hank White.  Predator 375 1. Todd Godbee, 2. Cameron Barnes, 3. Wayne Edenfield.  Clone T3 350 1. Joseph DIekemper, 2. Justin DIekemper, 3. Dylan Litchfield.  Clone T3 375 1. Justin Diekemper, 2. Joseph Diekemper, 3. Dylan Litchfield.  Clone EL 350 1. Chad Murray, 2. Joseph Diekemper, 3. Justin Diekemper.  Clone EL 375 1. Joseph Diekemper, 2. Justin Diekemper, 3. Dusty Godbee.  Clone Super Heavy 425 1. Tommy Townsend, 2. Rodney Marcus, 3. Keith Thompson.