Tanner Grabs Win at Swainsboro Raceway!

Tanner Grabs Win at Swainsboro Raceway!

By: Candy Carroll


Racing action at Swainsboro Raceway began Saturday night with the 602 Crate Late Models. Benjamin Cranford and Austin Scarboro led the field to green. Scarboro took an early lead as Cranford got loose off turn four. Cranford holds onto second but continues to fight a loose racecar. Scarboro pulls away with a hefty lead and with two laps to go gets wrapped up with a lapped car. Cranford takes over the lead but Scarboro was hot on a mission back to the front. Benjamin Cranford takes the checkered earning his first win at Swainsboro Raceway. Unfortunately, Austin Scarboro was forced to settle for second, and Ridge Warren third.

In the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Jimmy Thomas earned the pole with a time of 15.266 second over Chesley Dixon’s 15.293. On the start, Thomas spins in front of the field collecting Eddie Morris, Brandon Carpenter and Shannon Graham in the wreck. On the restart, Chesley Dixon takes the lead off turn four on the outside. Fourth place qualifier Ben Faircloth spins in turn three. By lap three on the restart, Blake Smith moves into third after starting seventh. Chesley Dixon rolls into Victory Lane with another win for the season, Jimmy Thomas second, Blake Smith third, Joshua Bishop fourth, and Cole Godowns fifth.

Fifteen cars showed up to battle in the Scare House of the South 440 division, Richard Lastinger and Mike Meyer both picked up heat race wins. On the start, Lastinger takes the lead. Starting side by side second row father and son, Tommy Davis pulls into third over son Tyler Davis. Lap two, after starting on the rear due to mechanical issues in the heat race, Rod Morris began making moves on the outside. Lap three, Mike Meyer takes the lead off turn four. Lap four, Morris already in the fifth position. Halfway, Morris worst nightmare as he blows in turn three and four running fourth. Four to go, Tommy Davis takes over the lead. Tommy Davis earns another win increasing that points lead, Mike Meyer second, Tyler Davis brings home third moving to second place in the points, Richard Lastinger fourth, and Daniel Rogers brought home fifth after rolling his car in the heat race.

Up next, Brent Herndon takes the lead in the Sunoco Super Street division. Jamie Whitaker moves inside Andy Stewart for the third position. Lap two, Whitaker takes over second from Cannan Cranford. Lap three, Stewart moves inside Cranford for third. Halfway, Herndon off the pace after taking a huge lead and forced to pit. Whitaker takes over the lead and pulls away until two to go as Andy Stewart moves closer. Jamie Whitaker picks up the win with Andy Stewart second. Coming to the checkered, Cannan Cranford spins losing third. Daniel Roland picked up third, Jimmy Maness fourth, and Jared Jones fifth.

Logan Tanner and Brent Herndon picked up heat race wins in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division. On the start, Tanner takes the lead as Justin Thompson moves inside Herndon for second. Tanner fought hard to hold off Thompson and Herndon charging hard for the lead. Lap four, Gene Thompson pits losing the fifth position. All the way to the checkered the top three battled pedal to the metal for the lead. Logan Tanner held of Justin Thompson and Brent Herndon for the win. Picking up fourth and fifth was Fate Carroll and Cody Stapleton.

Last in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, seventeen cars took the green with Jamey Donaldson and Wesley Coleman out front. Donaldson takes the lead as Jason Floyd edges into second. Lap two, Floyd moves to the inside of Donaldson for the lead but unable to follow through. Lap five, Floyd tries the inside again in turn two and completes the pass off turn four. Lap eight, Alex Sturkie tries the inside of Donaldson for second. Jason Floyd took the win for the first time this season at Swainsboro Raceway, Jamey Donaldson held onto second, Alex Sturkie picked up his best finish in third, Stacy Loftin fourth, and Brent Herndon fifth.