Poole Pulls Out First Win at Swainsboro Raceway!

Poole Pulls Out First Win at Swainsboro Raceway!


By: Candy Carroll


Saturday night racing action at Swainsboro Raceway started off with the 602 Crate Late Model division. Jim Rogers took an early lead as Ahnna Parkhurst moved into the second position. By lap five, Rogers began pulling away and Parkhurst held onto second. Halfway, Parkhurst began closing in on Rogers lead. Jim Rogers lead to checkered earning his first win at Swainsboro Raceway, Ahnna Parkhurst second, and Tyler Mimbs finished out the top three.

In the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division, Swainsboro’s own Ironhead Chesley Dixon and Hurrican Henry Carter led the field to green. On the first start, Dixon took the lead with Blake Smith to second, Carter took a ride off the back bringing out caution and setting the field up for a complete restart. Once again, Dixon takes the lead but Carter takes over on the outside of turn two. Side by side for first, Blake Smith started to close in for a three car battle. Lap four, Carter takes over first. Lap six, Smith tries Dixon for second but fails to make the pass. Five to go, Carter and Dixon break away from the pack out front. Henry Carter holds off Chesley Dixon for the win, Blake Smith takes home third, Michael Akeson fourth, and Cole Godowns fifth.

Seventeen drivers showed up to battle in the Scare House of the South 440 division with points leader Tommy Davis and reigning points champion Rod Morris starting out front. On the start, Davis takes the lead with Morris challenging the outside. Lap four, Daniel Rogers puts pressure on Morris for second. Three laps to go, Davis gets tangled up in lapped traffic allowing Morris to take over the lead. Coming to the white flag, Morris breaks on the back stretch leading the event. On the restart, Daniel Rogers moved beside Tommy Davis to battle for the lead. Taking the white flag, the two shared metal battling door to door all the way down the back stretch. In turn three, the two get together sending both spinning in front of the field. Daniel Rogers was declared the winner, Richard Lastinger second, Scott Helton third, Mike Myers fourth, and Tyler Davis fifth.

Up next, Andy Stewart took the lead off turn two over Brent Herndon in the Sunoco Super Street division. Lap two, Daniel Roland took the inside lane to move by Herndon for second. Lap five, battling car trouble all night Luke Scott took the hard turn to the pits running fifth. On a restart after caution, Jamie Whitaker slipped allowing Jimmy Maness to move inside for fourth. Lap seven, Stewart still out front, Herndon retaliates to the inside lane regaining second from Roland. Maness in the fourth position spins and is forced to pit with damage. After weeks of trouble, Andy Stewart returns to Victory Lane. In a tough battle for second, Daniel Roland took the spot, Brent Herndon third, Jared Jones fourth, and David Dixon fifth.

Tyler Sanders and Jamey Foskey both earned heat race wins in the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior division. Tyler Sanders took the lead and Fate Carroll jumped into second. Lap two, Joe Cartwright tried Carroll for second and completed the pass on lap four. Lap six, Alf Wimberly moved to the inside of Foskey for the third position. Tyler Sanders held on for the win, Joe Cartwright second, Todd Hutcheson third, Fate Carroll fourth, and Jamey Foskey fifth.

Ending the night in the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division, Tommy Hadden moved up to the front row after heat race winner Brent Herndon did not make the feature event, Jamey Donaldson started outside. Tommy Hadden took the lead. Andy Stewart in the fifth position was spun, pitted, and restarted on the rear. By lap three, Stewart was in the sixth position. Lap four, Willis McKenzie tried Kip Poole for the third position in two. Lap five, McKenzie took over second from Jamey Donaldson. Derrick Screws takes action challenging Tommy Hadden for the lead. Hadden and Screws battled side by side into three sending both cars spinning and Hadden was forced to pit after leading the entire event. On the restart, Kip Poole held the lead over Willis McKenzie and Andy Stewart. Poole was under pressure must hit every mark just right because one slip would give McKenzie opportunity to attack. Kip Poole pulls out his first win, Willis McKenzie second, Andy Stewart third, Jamey Donaldson fourth, and Wesley Coleman fifth.